Buckhaven & Wemyss Parish Church

This year’s Christmas services are as follows…Christmas Eve at Methilhill & Denbeath Church 7:00pm. Christmas Day Methilhill & Denbeath church at 10:30am

Other services are on Sundays at 10:30 a.m. at Buckhaven Church Theatre only during December, except Sunday 29th, when the service will be held in Methilhill & Denbeath Parish Church at 11:00am.  In January 2020  one service only on Sundays at West Wemyss Church at 10:30 a.m.

Buckhaven & Wemyss Parish Church was formed by a Union in September 2008.  Our Mission Statement is  – ‘To be a vibrant church in the heart of the community’ and to that end we are a mission-shaped church, trying to present the Christian faith in ways that are meaningful to all who come into our buildings and where a warm welcome awaits old and new friends.

We have activities and groups that meet within our church family – Sunday School, The Guild, Prayer Shawl Ministry, Time4tea, Friendly Circle, Bible/Lent Studies and various social and fundraising activities throughout the year.

Our small Theatre is busy throughout the year – it is used by around 60 children each week for drama. Buckhaven & Methil Brass Band hold concerts twice a year and the SCDA festival is held each year.  CLEAR (Community Led Environmental Action for Regeneration) use the building as a focal point.  The Robert Gough Centre use the stage facilities weekly and Narcotics Anonymous meet on Tuesday evenings.  Local drama and dance groups put on shows.

The Union has been a new journey for us and we’re still feeling our way but we travel forward safe in the knowledge that God travels with us in this adventure.  We welcome all who would like to be part of this journey.  Our hope is that you will find something in our worship services or at one of the activities we run that you will enjoy. In the words of our Friendly Circle – ‘Please remember to come when you can and leave when you must.”


Interim Moderators:          Rev Elisabeth Cranfield & Mrs May Russell

Parish Assistant:                  Mrs Jacqueline Thomson DCS

Session Clerk:                        Mrs Linda Young

Representative Elder:         Mrs Jean Levack



 Buckhaven Church

Wemyss Church