Abbotshall Church, Kirkcaldy


Minister: Reverend Justin Taylor

Registered Charity – Scottish Charity No. SC002586

History – Established in 1650, the Kirk of Abbotshall was the second Church of Scotland Parish Church in Kirkcaldy, and continues to be a focus of worship and social gatherings. In 1964 Raith Parish Church united with Abbotshall, and the current Abbotshall Manse in Milton Road, was the original Raith Manse. The Church was completely re-arranged and re-furbished in 1975, the result you see today.

Services – Sunday services are held throughout the year at 11.00am with a 9.00am service also held in June, July and August. Formal Communion is held three times a year on the first Sundays of March, June and November, with short informal Communion held monthly after the morning service. Young Church and Creche meet at 11.00am during school term.

Halls – Our Halls are extensively used throughout the year with our Choir, Rainbows, Brownies and Guides, Scouts, Arts and Crafts Group, Scrabble, Country Dancing as well as many groups from the community.

Coffee Mornings – We have a themed monthly coffee morning, normally on the second Saturday of the month in the Halls, and coffee is served after Sunday Worship every week.

Areas of Support and Focus:

Pastoral Care – We have an ageing congregation with a pastoral care network that seeks to look after our members’ needs.

School Chaplaincy – Our Minister is actively involved in the chaplaincy of Strathallan Primary School and joint chaplaincy in Kirkcaldy West and Balwearie High School.

KART – We are supportive of KART and its aims in the outreach and Christian development of our youth in our schools.

Music – The Church has a Binn’s Pipe Organ built in 1899 and recently completely re-furbished. Music is a very important part of our worship, and we are blessed with talent that ensures our services are appropriate and innovative. Our members often leave the Church with a smile and a skip in their step.


Session Clerk:                        Mrs Morag Michael                    

Representative Elder:            Miss Jenny McLeod

Additional Elder:                   Dr Elspeth Smith